Tags

, , ,

This has been one of my favorite recipes for years: Sweet n Sour Meatballs. It came from an old Taste of Home magazine (love those!). My husband loves it. My son loves it. I love it!

Ingredients:

  • 1 can pineapple chunks in juice
  • 1 cup water
  • 3 T vinegar (I use cheap white distilled)
  • 1 T soy sauce
  • 1/2 c brown sugar
  • 3 T cornstarch
  • 1 large bell pepper (whatever color you want. Red and yellow look pretty)
  • 1-2 lb ground meat of choice (beef is wonderful for this) mixed with 1 piece of bread shredded, 1 egg, 1 T worchestirshire sauce, 1 tsp garlic, salt, pepper. Make into meatballs. Cook at 400 for 20 minutes. 

Instructions:

Cook meatballs. Drain pineapple reserving juice. Add water to cup to measure 1 cup. Pour into skillet. Add 1 more cup of water. Add soy sauce, sugar, and cornstarch on medium high heat and stir occasionally until thick and smooth. Add pineapple, pepper, and meatballs. Simmer for 5-10 minutes. Serve on rice. 

Image