Tags

, , ,

This is a wonderfully cheap and easy recipe for homemade enchilada sauce. 

I eat gluten free and finding an pre-made enchilada sauce is difficult. Plus, this recipe makes about 2 cups worth of sauce instead of just a small can’s worth.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans tomato sauce (8 oz cans)
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 onion, minced
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3 T chili powder
  • 3 garlic cloves (or just 3 big spoonfuls of pre-minced garlic, which is what I use)
  • 2 T cumin
  • 2 T sugar
  • 1/2 cup water

Heat oil. Add the onion and salt. Let that cook until the onions are tender. Stir in the seasonings/spices and sugar. Next, stir in the tomato sauce and water. Let it simmer. Voila!

I mix about half of it with whatever cooked meat I made to fill the tortillas. I pour the rest over the top of the enchiladas before cooking. It’s delicious. Adjust the spices to your taste!